Survival Sanity
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Individual Bleed Out Kit

3 posters

Go down

Individual Bleed Out Kit Empty Individual Bleed Out Kit

Post by Admin Tue Mar 10, 2015 10:10 am

What I call an IBOK, others call an Individual First Aid Kit (IFAK.) I consider basic first aid and the stopping a major bleeding event to be separate.

It is wise that you (we) should always carry the tools and experience necessary to stop/prevent/reduce the three major causes of death from traumatic injury - No breathing, no circulation, and massive bleeding. In general, the IBOK/IFAK is a small compact kit that was specifically designed to address the most common forms of those three events when a tourniquet is included as part of the kit.

I am not a doctor, nurse, EMT, or paramedic, but I have taken several first aid and field trauma classes as well as CPR (which I was forced to use on a child last summer), but I do realize that being able to deal with severe trauma in the field is an important first step, especially if everyone is carrying guns around. From all of the research I have done, there are two that I like the most:

ITS Tactical Tall Boy
Individual Bleed Out Kit Tallboy-trauma-kit-multicam-featured

Dark Angel Medical D.A.R.K.
Individual Bleed Out Kit DarkAngelMedical-Product-230-e1418493946575-368x368

Both are similar in their contents, with a few variations that could have significance in certain situations. They both have a similar price with included specially designed pouches. Both will fit in a double M4 magazine pouch, and the ITS Tall Boy package actually was designed to fit into a double magazine pouch.

(Unless you are in dire need for one of these, we can get a discount through a group buy, so hold off for now.)